grilled salmon and strawberry avocado salad

salmon polaroidCooking is one of the true joys of my life.  I was so happy to get married, because it gave me an outlet for all of my culinary creativity!

I tend to favor easy-to-make, comfort food-y goodness, but The Greek’s doctor told him he has to lose a few pounds in order to avoid diabetes.  (Or “the sugar diabeetus”, as my mother likes to call it.  She channels her country ancestors sometimes… a little holy water sprinkled around, and she’s fine.)

So anyway, we’re cutting back on the cakes and pies and breads (oh my!) lately in an attempt to keep the forces of darkness at bay.

Even though cooking for two is easier than for one, I often end up tossing leftover meats into the freezer for later use.  This week is a “cleaning out the freezer” week, which means I’m pretty set for meats and need to only focus on the side dishes…. quite a budget helper!

This grilled salmon recipe is great, because it uses things I already have on hand.  

This time, I have two pieces of salmon and am making a simple marinade by combining equal parts (1 teaspoon):

  • melted butter
  • olive oil
  • honey
  • soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried ginger
  • plus about 1/8 teaspoon minced garlic (I buy those huge jars of pre-minced garlic, with 1 clove equal to about 1/2 teaspoon, but you can chop it up fresh!)

Note: this recipe normally uses 1 tablespoon rather than 1 teaspoon, 1 teaspoon of ginger and 1 clove of garlic.  I rounded down, roughly, based on the small amount of salmon I was using.

Combine the marinade in a small bowl and pour over the salmon pieces in a shallow dish.  Cover and pop in the fridge for about half an hour.  I make this on my pre-heated George Foreman grill on medium-high, heating on one side for about 8 minutes and then flipping over for another 5 or so.  It doesn’t need to be flipped, but it makes me feel like a superchef to have the criss-cross grill marks.  Small victories, people, small victories. We like our salmon very well done, so reduce the cooking time if you prefer it pink on the inside, .  You may also make this on a hot (outdoor) grill or in a frying pan.  Slather the leftover marinade on the salmon as it cooks, but make sure it is done towards the beginning so that no germs have a chance to thrive.

Pinterest is a girl’s best friend, and I stumbled across this strawberry avocado salad at the  Flourishing Foodie blog.  The dressing is made by combining in a small jar (or, more simply, by whisking together right in a measuring cup):

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lime juice (the juice of about 2 limes)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • cracked pepper
  • 2-3 shallots, sliced

I changed the original recipe and added the shallots to the dressing so that they would get infused with some of the lime.  If, like me, you find shallots too strongly flavored, bring some water to a boil in a small pan and drop the peeled shallots into the boiling water for about a minute or two before slicing.  This mellows out the flavor nicely while bringing some savory flavory (ha) to the salad.  Shake it up really well and pour over this salad stuff in a large bowl:

  • 4 cups baby spinach
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 2 cups strawberries, halved

This makes enough for 4 salads.  Pile the salad on a plate, top with the grilled salmon and enjoy!  This is a heart-healthy, easy meal that even my meat-and-potatoes man loves.  If only it were followed by some coconut cake…

Note: You can print this recipe by clicking the “Print and PDF” button below – it will allow you to delete as much of the text and pictures as you want prior to printing so you don’t waste ink/paper.

please chirp in

