yummy pork chops with white rice and broccoli

Technically, I’m not sure that pork tenderloin and pork chops are the same thing.  Technically, I’m not sure I care.  091213 chops

I am the cat who walks alone and all pork is alike to me.  (Well, except for bacon… THAT is clearly a gift straight from the heavens and a food group all its own.)

No matter the piggy region my “chops” hailed  from, they were easy and tasty, and who could ask for anything more?  After each meal, I ask The Greek to rate it on a scale of 1 to 10 (why repeat meals he doesn’t like if the whole point is to make his mouth happy?) – this, he was to busy chewing and “mmm”ing to respond.

I think that means it’s a keeper.

This time, I went all wild woman and added some chilies to avoid BFS (Boring Food Syndrome). They were barely noticeable, but I’ve convinced myself they rescued the chops from a bland existence.  You can buy these neat little chilies in the frozen section at Walmart for, like, $2.77, I think.  They come frozen in 20 little cubes that help you avoid burning your eyes from mindlessly touching them after cutting chilies… not that I’d know anything about that.  I’ve heard it’s painful, though. *Cough*

The total cost for this meal was about $4 or $1 per serving!  We already had almost everything on hand – ketchup, soy sauce, honey, chilies and rice, so that kept costs waaaay down.

Pork chops and mashed potatoes go together like peanut butter and jelly, but I decided on plain white rice as a complement to the Asian-inspired sauce (also, in case the chilies came out very strong, I didn’t want a whole lot going on with the sides).

091213ingred

Yummy Pork Chops

  • 4 pork loin chops, 1/2 inch thick (about 1-1/4 pounds)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 2 cubes (2 teaspoons) chili paste (optional)
  1. Heat oven to 350.  Remove fat from pork.  Place pork in ungreased square baking dish, 8x8x2 inches.  (I was going to use a shallower dish, but the chops released a lot of liquid and a lot of sauce.  I’d recommend sticking to a tall baking dish)  Mix remaining ingredients and pour over pork.
  2. Cover and bake about 45 – 50 minutes or until pork is 160 degrees with a meat thermometer.  Uncover and bake 5 minutes longer.

I made the rice in our rice steamer ($5 at a garage sale and one of my most-used purchases!), popped the frozen broccoli into Chef Mike and served a bit of the baked sauce over the rice, since it wasn’t spicy at all.

Winner, winner pork chop dinner!

Note: The “Print and PDF” button below will allow you to delete as much of the text and pictures  as you like prior to printing, so you’ll save on ink and paper.

please chirp in

