southwestern skillet stroganoff

So now we have to put ourselves into the WABAC machine to remember Friday’s meal.  091313strog

I probably should have done this post on Friday evening or Saturday when it was fresher in my mind, but we should be able to come up with something.  Bear with me.

This was an easy meal (yay!), but something was missing.   I think that’s why I’ve put off writing about it… I wanted it to be perfect before talking about it.  No genius ideas have occurred to me in the last three days, so perhaps you will have to try it to see what you think.

This meal made four servings and cost (using ingredients shared with other meals last week) about $6.75, or $1.70 per serving.

We just had beef stroganoff two weeks ago as part of a freezer cooking experiment, and I was excited at the idea of a southwestern stroganoff.  The problem, I think, is that the salsa made for a very acidic dish that the sour cream did not mellow.  I think adding maybe a tablespoon of sugar might help to cut the acidity?  Also, I would recommend using mild salsa, as the medium I used was too much… great with chips, not so great in this dish.

Don’t let me discourage you, though – this was quite delicious!

091313ingreds

Southwestern Skillet Stroganoff

  • 1 pound ground turkey (original recipe called for ground beef, but the turkey was cheaper)
  • 1 jar (16 ounces) thick-and-chunky salsa (I used two cups from a larger jar that was cheaper per ounce)
  • 2 cups uncooked pasta (original recipe called for wagon wheels, which our store didn’t carry… I chose cute little bows)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I use light to keep the fat content down)
  1. Cook meat in skillet that has a lid over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until brown.  Drain if necessary (turkey did not need draining).
  2. Stir in 1 cup of water, salsa and pasta. (I used 1-1/2 cups water because the bows are so thick, I was worried I’d run out of liquid before they cooked.  Using a long-handled spoon, poke all of the pasta under the liquid as much as possible.)  Heat to boiling and reduce heat to low.
  3. Cover and simmer for 10 -15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until pasta is tender.  Stir in sour cream and cook until just hot (this should take only about a minute – you don’t want to boil the salsa/sour cream mixture, because the sour cream may curdle rather than mixing in).

Crush some tortilla chips and sprinkle over each serving.

Note: The “Print and PDF” button below will allow you to delete as much of the text and pictures  as you like prior to printing, so you’ll save on ink and paper.

please chirp in

