honey lime chicken – with pineapple!

Holy deliciousness, Batman! dinner

This is more of a recipe review than anything, but I thought I’d let y’all know that this one’s a keeper.   I was worried that, between a whole can of pineapple and the added honey, it would be just a gooey, sticky, overly sweet mess.

… but it was good!  Like, double exclamation point good!! Like, second helpings good!

Of course, this means that only The Greek had leftovers today, but that’s okay… I was craving an egg salad sandwich anyway.  (Seriously… with olives)

The lemon juice (I used the juice of two limes rather than measuring) counter-balanced all that sweetness to create a really easy sweet-and-sour chicken dish. And I’ll let you in on a little secret  – I didn’t read the instructions all the way through, so after adding about half a cup of pineapple juice, I drank the rest.  Who knows?  Maybe that made all the difference.

I will say that it needed a little sumpthin’ sumpthin’ for texture, though.  The author recommends chow mein noodles, which sounds good.  Or maybe some cashews.  Whatever you have on hand.  Plus a vegetable – we had some steamed broccoli, but snow peas would be great too.

Frugal can be so much more than dried garbanzo beans! (I’m talking to YOU, Mr. Panera CEO man)

Note: The “Print and PDF” button below will allow you to delete as much of the text and pictures  as you like prior to printing, so you’ll save on ink and paper.

please chirp in

