meat and potatoes casserole

092313 meat and potatoes

So last night was our first night of Turkey Week (as I’ve come to call it).  I was expecting this casserole to be about as good/bad as the casserole from last Monday, but it was actually pretty tasty.

It is much better if you mix it all up on your plate rather than eating each ingredient separately… get yourself a good forkful there!

This is how I did it, but you can link to the real recipe here.

meat and potato casserole ingredients

  1. Start by scrubbing your carrots and potatoes to get all the dirt off, and then peel and dice the carrots pretty finely (carrots cook super slow, so you want to make sure they’re soft by the end of the baking).
  2. Dice your onion (about half of a medium-sized onion for me).
  3. You’re supposed to peel and dice the potatoes as well, but like The Greek says, “This isn’t a suicide pact – you can do whatever you want.”  I thought we could use the fiber… so I just cut off the wonky bits and sliced ’em up in my food processor.  Then I stacked the slices up and cut them into quarters.
  4. Since I used a 28-ounce can of diced tomatoes, I had to open it and pour about half into a 2-cup measuring cup and then save the other half for another meal.
  5. Brown the ground turkey up (85% lean means 15% NOT, so I had a lot of fat and liquid to drain off afterward.  Feel free to push the meat to one side of the pan and use paper towels to really get the grease out!).
  6. I then added all the other ingredients, except the potatoes, to the pan and gave it a good stir.  I added the potatoes to this mixture in the prepared 9 x 13″ dish – be careful with this part, or you’ll make your scrounging dog very happy  (i.e food will go a-flyin’)! smile
  7. Cover everything with cheese! (the best step ever)
  8. Spray some aluminum foil with non-stick cooking spray and cover the casserole tightly.  Bake for about 50 minutes.
  9. Let cool slightly before serving.
please chirp in

