turkey and corn enchilada casserole

We love us some Mexican/Southwest-inspired meals, so I was pretty happy to have found this recipe on a week when we have sooo much ground turkey laying around.  We’re supposed to use only half of a pound of the ground turkey (saving the other for another day), but I just went ahead and used the other half too… just add a bit more chili powder and cumin to make sure it isn’t bland.

NOTE: This was the second meal using this particular cookbook, and unless you are cooking for hungry men and teenagers, these 9 x 13″ casseroles make more than 4 servings – more like 6 – 8 servings.  For both of them, I’ve ended up putting 2 servings into the freezer to eat on the weekend… great for the money-saving aspect, but that sucker’s already full.  It’s so bizarre to have so much food spending so little – I feel like we’re having a little “loaves and fishes” miracle, like my food is multiplying!  A great “problem” to have, but I was not prepared for that.  I need more freezer-safe storage containers!

I’m a very visual person and am trying something new with the presentation of the recipes, by including the directions with the pictures.  So we’ll see how this goes… let me know what you think!  The traditional recipe, including ingredients, can be found here.

Preheat the oven to 350° F and spray a 9 x 13-inch glass baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.

Ingredients

  • ½ pound ground turkey (I used the whole pound)
  • ½ cup onion, finely chopped (I used about half that, based on personal taste)
  • 1 garlic clove (I buy those huge jars of minced garlic where ½ teaspoon = 1 clove and used 1 teaspoon)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder (I used 2 tablespoons)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (I used 2 teaspoons)
  • 1 can (15 ounces) corn kernels, no salt added, drained
  • 2 cans black beans, reduced sodium, drained and rinsed – use 2 cups
  • 10 corn tortillas
  • 2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese

092413cornenchilada

I buy salt-free or reduced-sodium canned goods as much as possible, because it’s easier to add it in than to take it out.  High sodium contributes to high blood pressure and all manner of cardiovascular issues (which my family is prone to), so I try to watch my sodium intake.  Cheese is usually salty and makes up for a lot of the missing sodium, but you may want to add some salt to taste.

This casserole was a little bland (probably as a result of the changes I made), but a little sour cream perked it right up!

please chirp in

