steamed asparagus and zombies

Season-3-Cast-1024x650

I’m cleaning out the freezer this week, because it’s chock full of leftovers and freezer meals all ready to pop into the crockpot… and I, frankly, need a break after all that planning from the Food Stamp Challenge last month.

I’m totally winging it and realized late yesterday that we don’t have any side dishes.  Whoops.  So early this morning, between walking the dog and The Scorching Time, I hied down to the Super Walmart to grab some potatoes and vegetables for the week.  It’s a peaceful walk and gives me time to catch up on my podcasts.

There is a 4-lane road to cross on the walk home, abandoned at 8:30 a.m..  I couldn’t even hear any noise from the main road, about half a mile away, and as I looked down a the grass growing between the cracks in the pavement, I felt like the last person alive.

In the zombie apocalypse.

Out in the open.

Visions of the 2004 remake of “Dawn of the Dead” flashed into my head.  A typical suburban development, blood covered monsters jumping through windows and running (they can run!) after fleeing, shrieking innocents.  Could I survive, with my hands full of grocery bags and my hearing earbud dulled?  Nope, I’d be a fresh meal.

But it reminded me that one of my absolutely favorite shows, “The Walking Dead”, premieres this weekend.  I cannot wait!

please chirp in

