loaded baked potato shepherd’s pie

We love us some shepherd’s pie and loaded baked potatoes, so I was suuuuper excited when I came across this recipe that fused the two.  Could anything be more delicious-sounding?!

I’m comfortable enough in the kitchen now to have some opinions, so I knew that I’d have to make some changes to this recipe.  To begin with, their gorgeous picture shows a pie crust in a pie pan, but nowhere in the recipe do these things appear. Huh?  So I made this without a crust in a 9 x 9″ glass baking dish.

The original recipe is essentially a meatloaf on the bottom… I don’t know about you, but every time I’ve made meatloaf, there was liquid left that had to be drained out.  That would be hard to do with all the toppings.  Also, I’ve had bad luck in the past with onions cooking thoroughly when I put them into a casserole raw.  Soooo, I decided to pre-cook the beef before adding the “binding” ingredients (breadcrumbs and egg).  Make sure you let the beef cool before adding the other ingredients, or the egg might cook from the residual heat.  I also got creative with the spices, because I thought it might be a little bland with just sage.

I used pre-packaged potatoes, but it would have been just as easy to make some from scratch (not to mention you’d have more control over the sodium and fat content).  If you use the pre-packaged, warm them according to the instructions on the container so that they’re spreadable.  I couldn’t find the garlic mashed potatoes called for, so I just added some garlic to the ground beef mixture.

Top your casserole with whatever you’d normally top a baked potato with – bacon, tomato, broccoli, green onion.  The options are limitless, really.   (I had planned to add some green onion, but they went bad sometime during the week and had to be chucked.  Sad face.)  We added sour cream the end, and it was awesome.  Truly.  Awesome.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon rosemary (I didn’t end up using this, because I worried it would be too “shepherd’s pie” to be “loaded baked potato”, if that makes sense)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I won’t add this next time, because the pre-packaged potatoes and cheese provided more than enough saltiness)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 package (1 lb 8 oz) refrigerated mashed potatoes
  • 1 cup (or more!) shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 2 slices (or more!) bacon
  • freshly chopped tomato

loaded baked potato shepherd's pie

Enjoy!  This is another flexible recipe I’ll be adding to my rotation.

 

please chirp in

