salmon patties with broccoli salad

This was a meal of bravery for me, because I haven’t historically been all that fond of canned salmon and have never had broccoli salad.

I was pleasantly surprised, however, by how great the salmon patties tasted (not overly “fishy”) and how well the broccoli complemented the fish.

The broccoli salad was creamy, sweet and tangy and very similar to a cole slaw, which is a famous side for fish.  All in all, a great meal!

The original recipes can be found here and here.

First, the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad news.  I was telling my mother about this meal yesterday, and she horrified me by telling me that raw broccoli can have worms in/on it.  

Say what now?    Why have I never heard this before?!

I looked it up, and sure enough, it’s a thing (not sure how common it is, but still).  *Shudder*  I had rinsed off our broccoli, but that’s apparently not good enough… so it’s too late for us (extra protein, I suppose), but let my pain be your gain.  (I’m not sure whether I should be wishing the grower used insecticide or not, as I would imagine the problem would be worse with organic broccoli (?).)

What you’ll want to do (and what I’ll definitely do in the future) is soak your raw broccoli in a large bowlful of salt water with a couple of tablespoons of white vinegar added for 20 minutes to an hour.  Broccoli floats, so you’ll have to weigh it down with a plate.  Then, if any worms were in your broccoli, they’ll sink to the bottom.  Gross.  Much as I liked it, I won’t be eating our leftovers.  Sometimes, the less you know, the better.  I’ll make it again, soaking the broccoli first, and I’m also going to blanch the broccoli next time!  By the way, this is how you should handle cauliflower too.

Update:  I had several broccoli crowns left over this week and I just soaked them for 40 minutes – with no worms left over at the end.  We must have the chemical-laden variety… chemicals are delicious. 🙂  

Ingredients

  • 2 broccoli crowns
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • ~1/8 cup onion, very finely diced
  • 2 cans salmon, drained
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 small onion, finely diced (or 1 teaspoon dried onion powder)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (or 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder)
  • 2 tablespoons mustard, Dijon or regular
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • salt and pepper, optional

The broccoli salad can be either served immediately after mixing or chilled first.  The salmon patty recipe makes about 8 patties and is very easy to halve if you want fewer.  Cook patties in a mix of butter and olive oil in a hot pan.

please chirp in

